Friday, October 1, 2010


Safe Space Resolution

"The College of Charleston Philosophical Society formally stands in solidarity with the Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, Queer, Asexual, Allied, and Intersex (LGBTQQAAI) communities against all forms of discrimination, intimidation, hate crimes, bullying, hostility and intolerance. In response to the recent wave of tragic suicides across the nation, the Philosophical Society condemns oppression of sexual and gender minorities especially in academic settings and on college campuses. In light of these events, we call upon the College of Charleston administration, faculty, staff, and students:

  • The administration is obligated to review and amend current policies regarding the inclusivity and protection offered to all members of the CofC community regardless of sexual and gendered identification.
  • The faculty and staff are obligated to maintain vigilance in the classroom and on campus related to instances of intolerance, and are responsible for creating an open, respectful, and empathetic environment for all members of the CofC community.
  • The students are obligated to unconditionally respect each other, stand up for each other, recognize and respond to instances of intolerance, and provide support each other at all times.
Students especially are reminded of their commitment to each other and the greater well-being of our college. These recent suicides evidence an existential threat to the kind of institution the College of Charleston is, namely an academic institution that fosters the positive personal and intellectual development and growth of its members. No one should feel threatened on the basis of their sexuality, gender, or any form of self-expression and self-identification. The responsibility for these matters rests in the hands of every person, and it is imperative that we uphold this resolution with our daily language and behavior.

We demand a safe space for all members of the College of Charleston community."

Signed in affirmation, October 1 2010, College of Charleston Philosophical Society officers Javier Gomez-Lavin, Amberjade Mwekali Taylor, Sarah Holt, Daniel Stone

14 Glebe Street, Charleston SC 29424

No comments:

Post a Comment